How does Service Design fit into the ITIL Service Lifecycle

ITIL Service Lifecycle comprises five stages: Service Strategy and ITIL Service Design, Service Transition Service Operation, Service Improvement and Continual Service Improvement. These are all interconnected and without one of them, a service cannot be effectively developed or managed. The ITIL Certification Training explains in detail the concept of the ITIL Service Lifecycle. This article will discuss the scope, goals and value of the ITIL Service Design Stage.
Scope of ITIL Service Design
ITIL Service Design includes guidelines for the design and development services as well as for Service Management processes. The IT strategy is the organization’s first step in the service lifecycle. The ITIL Service Design stage provides guidelines for the service management team to design and develop new services. These guidelines can be used by the service management team to ensure that the IT strategy is implemented. The ITIL Overview Course provides more information on service management.
ITIL Service design for new services
If your bank is a bank, and your strategy is to offer mobile banking services to customers, then you might need to develop new services that can be accessed via native apps of the bank. These new services are created in the Design phase of the service lifecycle.
Service design for existing services
Existing services may need to be modified or improved based on the IT strategy. Your organization might want to reduce cash withdrawal times from 4 seconds down to 2 seconds. This strategy will require changes or improvements to existing withdrawal services and processes that are planned at the Design stage of a service’s lifecycle.
ITIL Service Design: Five Aspects
ITIL Service Design Stage has 5 components
Services that have been changed or added to
Tools and systems for service management
Technological architectures, e.g. Upgrade to a new website that is more in line with current trends
Processes that are required, i.e. Improvement of existing processes according the IT strategy
Metrics and methods for measuring. You cannot control or improve if you don’t measure.

Metrics are an important part of the Design stage. Metrics must be developed in conjunction with the technical components of the service. These metrics will allow you to determine the performance of the new service. Metrics will be used to identify areas of concern during the continuous improvement phase. Metrics can also be used by service managers to determine if targets have been met.
ITIL Service Design Goals

ITIL Service design for innovative services
The ITIL Service Design stage is designed to create innovative, winning IT services. An IT service provider must be innovative in order to remain competitive in the market. It should also provide valuable and winning services to its customers. Customers will easily switch to a company that provides better service if they find one.
Let’s say you have a mobile operator. You get a variety of services, and you pay for them. You should consider switching to another mobile operator if they offer better services and meet your expectations.
The Design stage is responsible for the design of processes, guidelines, architectures, and documents in order to create innovative IT services. The ITIL Service Design stage should include additional architecture and infrastructure if you are designing innovative services. The Design stage will also include guidelines, processes, and documents that will help you create innovative IT services.
In ITIL service design, settlement of business requirements
Another goal of ITIL Service Design is the setting